
La Mesa, San Diego County
Assisted living in La Mesa: all 21 licensed homes
Not the three or four that advertise. Every care home the State of California licenses inside La Mesa, named, with its licence number, its licensed bed count and what the state's own inspectors have recorded about it. Read on 21 October 2026, and free to use whether or not you ever call us.
La Mesa has 21 licensed homes and 1,018 licensed beds across 2 ZIP codes. 5 of them are communities of 25 beds or more — the buildings with names you have heard of — and 14 are six-bed homes in ordinary houses on ordinary streets.
That second group is most of the market and almost none of the advertising. They have no websites, no signage and no listings, and in California they hold exactly the same licence as the large communities — a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly. For a parent who needs supervision rather than a social calendar, they are frequently the better answer, and a family searching the internet will never find them.
The public record
What the state has written down about these 21
California inspects licensed homes, investigates complaints about them and publishes what it finds. Across La Mesa's 21 homes, the record read on 21 October 2026 holds:
- 245
- recorded state visits
- 295
- published visit reports
- 23
- Type A citations, at 11 of the 21 homes
- 47
- Type B citations, at 11 homes
- 46
- substantiated allegations, at 11 homes
- 5
- homes with none of the three on the record
A Type A finding is one the state judged an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights; a Type B is one that could become immediate if it is not corrected. A substantiated allegation is a complaint the state found supported — there were also 242 it did not substantiate and 12 it found unfounded, and publishing a bare complaint total without that split would say nothing at all.
Read every count against the visit count beside it. These homes average 11.7 recorded visits each, and a home the state has been to sixty times will show more findings than one it has been to six. This is not a league table and nothing here is a score. It is where to start asking. The most recent visit on the record is October 21, 2026.
The question that decides whether you move her twice
Which of them can legally keep her if she declines
A licence is not general permission. Each home is approved for particular things, and each approval has a number attached.
19 of 21
approved for a non-ambulatory resident
Somebody who cannot walk out of the building unaided — a wheelchair, a walker, a two-person transfer. The approval states how many such residents the home may hold at once.
20 of 21
hold a hospice waiver
The approval that lets somebody stay through the end of life instead of moving again. The state prints the waiver's resident limit for 20 of them, and a waiver often covers only a fraction of a building's beds.
4 of 21
are recorded as approved for delayed egress
What a home needs before it can accept somebody who tries to leave. The Department writes this as free text on the licence rather than as a field, so silence here is silence — not a no.
Where the record does not state something, that is absence from the record and nothing more. It is not a refusal and it is not a zero — it is the question to put to the home, in writing, before anybody signs. Approvals change, so this narrows a shortlist; it never clears a home.
Tell us what she actually needs and we will come back with which of these twenty-one can take it, what they are quoting this month, and who has a room.
Every one of them
The 21, largest first
Not ranked and not recommended. Ordered by licensed beds, because that is a fact rather than an opinion. Street addresses are published only for communities of 25 beds or more — below that it is somebody's house.
Grossmont Gardens Senior Living
Licence 374604675 · 425 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · 5480 Marengo Ave · first licensed 2023
The record does not state a non-ambulatory approval. Hospice waiver for 50. Approved for delayed egress.
- 62
- visits
- 4
- Type A
- 8
- Type B
- 8
- subst.
The Montera
Licence 374604855 · 225 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · 5740 Lake Murray Blvd · first licensed 2025
Approved for 225 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 25. Approved for delayed egress.
- 13
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 5
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Westmont of La Mesa
Licence 374604079 · 164 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · 9000 Murray Dr · first licensed 2019
Approved for 164 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 18. Approved for delayed egress.
- 28
- visits
- 4
- Type A
- 11
- Type B
- 9
- subst.
Grossmont Gardens Memory Care
Licence 374604684 · 64 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · 4960 Mills Street · first licensed 2023
Approved for 39 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 25. Approved for delayed egress.
- 32
- visits
- 2
- Type A
- 7
- Type B
- 9
- subst.
Mesaview Senior Assisted Living
Licence 374604063 · 40 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · 7971 Culowee Street · first licensed 2018
Approved for 40 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 8.
- 21
- visits
- 4
- Type A
- 3
- Type B
- 7
- subst.
Reina's Caring Cottage
Licence 374604151 · 9 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2019
Approved for 9 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 4
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Divine Light Care Home
Licence 374604644 · 7 licensed beds · ZIP 91941 · first licensed 2023
Approved for 7 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 7.
- 8
- visits
- 1
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 2
- subst.
Casa de Vida Senior Living
Licence 374603494 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2014
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 3.
- 5
- visits
- 1
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Compassionate Care for Seniors 1
Licence 374604336 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2020
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 3.
- 6
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 1
- subst.
Hillside Haven Guest Home
Licence 374604029 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91941 · first licensed 2018
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 3.
- 5
- visits
- 1
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 1
- subst.
Lilos Tender Senior Care Inc.
Licence 374604980 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91941 · first licensed 2025
Approved for 5 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 2
- visits
- 2
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Loving Heart Assisted Living LLC
Licence 374604823 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2024
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 2.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 4
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Maryam RCFE
Licence 374604078 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2019
The record does not state a non-ambulatory approval. No hospice waiver appears on the record.
- 7
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Mount Helix Senior Care
Licence 374605121 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91941 · first licensed 2026
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 2
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Oasis Village Care
Licence 374604326 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91941 · first licensed 2020
Approved for 5 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 3.
- 7
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 1
- subst.
Peppertree Guest Home II
Licence 374601693 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91941 · first licensed 2004
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 5
- visits
- 2
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Renaissance Living
Licence 374603906 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2015
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 6
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 5
- Type B
- 5
- subst.
Right Choice Senior Living LLC - La Mesa
Licence 374604416 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2021
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 2.
- 7
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Royal Care Inc
Licence 374604739 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2024
Approved for 5 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 4.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Say You're Home
Licence 374604456 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2022
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 3.
- 9
- visits
- 1
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 1
- subst.
Say You're Home Too
Licence 374604649 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91942 · first licensed 2023
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 6
- visits
- 1
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 2
- subst.
Counts are read from the California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division record on 21 October 2026 and recomputed on every build rather than typed in. The published visit history begins around September 2021 for every home however long it has held its licence. Licensing changes continually: check any home's current status on the state's own Care Facility Search before relying on it, and tell us about anything here that looks wrong — we will correct it the same day.
Looking in another city? El Cajon, Chula Vista, Escondido and National City.
Searching in another county? Senior Placement Anaheim covers Orange County and Senior Placement Riverside covers Riverside County and the Inland Empire.
Before you look at a single price
Medicare does not pay for this
Medicare's own page on long-term care opens with the sentence "Medicare doesn't pay for long-term care", lists it as not covered, and says "You pay all costs". Help with dressing, bathing, meals and supervision, and the room itself, is not a Medicare benefit.
Medicare does cover a limited stay in a skilled nursing facility for rehabilitation after a qualifying hospital admission, and it covers hospice. Neither is a way to pay for assisted living. What does: private funds, long-term care insurance, Medi-Cal and its waivers for those who qualify, VA benefits for some veterans and surviving spouses, and in-home support hours through IHSS.
Medicare.gov, long-term care coverage, read 26 October 2026.
Common questions
Asked by almost every family
- How many assisted living homes are there in La Mesa?
- Twenty-one are licensed by the State of California inside La Mesa. Five are communities of 25 beds or more and fourteen are six-bed homes in ordinary houses, which is the half of the market almost nobody lists — they have no websites and no signs. Together they hold 1,018 licensed beds.
- What is the difference between assisted living and a board and care home?
- In California both hold the same licence, a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly, and the difference is size rather than legal category. A large community has more staff on site, more organised activity and more cost; a six-bed home is a house with a handful of residents and usually a much higher ratio of carers to residents. Which suits somebody depends mostly on how much supervision they need and how social they are, not on a price list.
- How do I check a La Mesa care home before I visit?
- Every licensed home has a public record: licence number and status, licensed beds, how many times the state has visited, the citations it issued, and whether complaints were substantiated. Those figures are on this page for all twenty-one, and you can look any licence number up yourself on the state's own Care Facility Search. Read a citation count against the visit count beside it — a home the state has been to sixty times will show more findings than one it has been to six.
- Does Medicare pay for assisted living in La Mesa?
- No. Medicare's own page on long-term care opens with the sentence "Medicare doesn't pay for long-term care", lists it as not covered, and says "You pay all costs". Medicare does cover a limited skilled-nursing stay after a qualifying hospital admission, and it covers hospice. Assisted living is paid privately, or through Medi-Cal and its waivers, or in some cases through VA benefits.
- What if my mother can no longer walk unaided, or is on hospice?
- Then the question is not which home you like but which homes are allowed to accept her, and that is on the record too. Ask the home to confirm its current approvals in writing before anybody signs, because approvals change and a snapshot narrows a shortlist rather than clearing a home.
- Do you charge families for help finding a home in La Mesa?
- No. A care home pays us a referral fee when somebody we introduced moves in, normally worked out from that home's monthly rate, and no invoice reaches the family. Nobody in this industry charges families, so "free" is not a point of difference and we would rather tell you who does pay.
Last reviewed . Figures are re-checked against their sources whenever this page is revised.
Twenty-one is still too many to ring
Tell us what she needs and we will narrow it to the two or three worth your afternoon — including the six-bed homes you will not find anywhere else. It costs your family nothing.
Who are we helping?
Start with your family member. You can discuss the details with us by phone.
Prefer to talk now? (619) 340-1539, open every day until 6pm.