
Chula Vista, South Bay
Assisted living in Chula Vista: all 30 licensed homes
Not the three or four that advertise. Every care home the State of California licenses inside Chula Vista, named, with its licence number, its licensed bed count and what the state's own inspectors have recorded about it. Read on 21 October 2026, and free to use whether or not you ever call us.
Chula Vista has 30 licensed homes and 1,487 licensed beds across 4 ZIP codes. 8 of them are communities of 25 beds or more and 22 are houses of six beds or fewer.
Chula Vista is the most community-weighted register in the county: the eight larger communities hold about nine in every ten of the city's licensed beds, and one of them, Fredericka Manor, is licensed for 560 on its own — more than a third of every licensed bed in the city. That matters for a practical reason. When the big buildings are full, a family here has twenty-two small homes to fall back on and almost no way to find them, because none of them advertises.
The public record
What the state has written down about these 30
California inspects licensed homes, investigates complaints about them and publishes what it finds. Across Chula Vista's 30 homes, the record read on 21 October 2026 holds:
- 320
- recorded state visits
- 370
- published visit reports
- 61
- Type A citations, at 11 of the 30 homes
- 134
- Type B citations, at 18 homes
- 63
- substantiated allegations, at 8 homes
- 12
- homes with none of the three on the record
A Type A finding is one the state judged an immediate risk to health, safety or personal rights; a Type B is one that could become immediate if it is not corrected. A substantiated allegation is a complaint the state found supported — there were also 147 it did not substantiate and 18 it found unfounded, and publishing a bare complaint total without that split would say nothing at all.
Read every count against the visit count beside it. These homes average 10.7 recorded visits each, and a home the state has been to sixty times will show more findings than one it has been to six. This is not a league table and nothing here is a score. It is where to start asking. The most recent visit on the record is October 23, 2026.
The question that decides whether you move her twice
Which of them can legally keep her if she declines
A licence is not general permission. Each home is approved for particular things, and each approval has a number attached.
26 of 30
approved for a non-ambulatory resident
Somebody who cannot walk out of the building unaided — a wheelchair, a walker, a two-person transfer. The approval states how many such residents the home may hold at once.
25 of 30
hold a hospice waiver
The approval that lets somebody stay through the end of life instead of moving again. The state prints the waiver's resident limit for 24 of them, and a waiver often covers only a fraction of a building's beds.
3 of 30
are recorded as approved for delayed egress
What a home needs before it can accept somebody who tries to leave. The Department writes this as free text on the licence rather than as a field, so silence here is silence — not a no.
Where the record does not state something, that is absence from the record and nothing more. It is not a refusal and it is not a zero — it is the question to put to the home, in writing, before anybody signs. Approvals change, so this narrows a shortlist; it never clears a home.
Tell us what she actually needs and we will come back with which of these can take it, what they are quoting this month, and who has a room.
Every one of them
The 30, largest first
Not ranked and not recommended. Ordered by licensed beds, because that is a fact rather than an opinion. Street addresses are published only for communities of 25 beds or more — below that it is somebody's house.
Fredericka Manor
Licence 374603402 · 560 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · 183 3Rd Ave · first licensed 2014
Approved for 119 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 15. Approved for delayed egress.
- 20
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
The Pasea
Licence 374604968 · 180 licensed beds · ZIP 91913 · 1420 E. Palomar Street · first licensed 2026
Approved for 157 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 12. Approved for delayed egress.
- 4
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Bonita Villa Senior Living
Licence 374604544 · 145 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · 3434 Bonita Road · first licensed 2023
Approved for 145 non-ambulatory residents. No hospice waiver appears on the record.
- 72
- visits
- 32
- Type A
- 26
- Type B
- 24
- subst.
Ivy Park at Otay Ranch
Licence 374604455 · 137 licensed beds · ZIP 91913 · 1290 Santa Rose Drive · first licensed 2021
Approved for 137 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 20.
- 38
- visits
- 4
- Type A
- 16
- Type B
- 14
- subst.
Westmont at San Miguel Ranch
Licence 374603509 · 105 licensed beds · ZIP 91914 · 2325 Proctor Valley Rd · first licensed 2015
Approved for 105 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 12. Approved for delayed egress.
- 28
- visits
- 2
- Type A
- 11
- Type B
- 12
- subst.
Ivy Park at Bonita
Licence 374604757 · 96 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · 3302 Bonita Road · first licensed 2024
Approved for 96 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 25.
- 10
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 3
- Type B
- 3
- subst.
Activcare at Rolling Hills Ranch
Licence 374603431 · 80 licensed beds · ZIP 91914 · 850 Duncan Ranch Rd · first licensed 2013
Approved for 80 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 20.
- 19
- visits
- 4
- Type A
- 3
- Type B
- 4
- subst.
Veterans Home Chula Vista
Licence 374601005 · 55 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · 700 East Naples Court · first licensed 2000
The record does not state a non-ambulatory approval. Hospice waiver for 5.
- 12
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
A Caring Heart Residence
Licence 374603888 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2016
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 2.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Amariah Home Care
Licence 374604383 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 2021
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 7
- visits
- 2
- Type A
- 12
- Type B
- 1
- subst.
Aury's Home Care
Licence 374601040 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2001
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Holds a hospice waiver; the state prints no resident limit for it.
- 4
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Bellahomecare I
Licence 374604790 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2024
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 7
- visits
- 1
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 2
- subst.
Bellahomecare III
Licence 374604846 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2024
The record does not state a non-ambulatory approval. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 4
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Bellahomecare Iiii
Licence 374605111 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 2026
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 3
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Berland Home Care
Licence 374602785 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2008
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 2.
- 7
- visits
- 5
- Type A
- 18
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Casa Abuela's
Licence 374604761 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2024
Approved for 5 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 5.
- 6
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Chula Vista Home Care
Licence 374603895 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 2017
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 3.
- 4
- visits
- 2
- Type A
- 5
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Faith Villa
Licence 374604697 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 2023
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 4
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Gentle Hearts Chula Vista
Licence 374604561 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2022
Approved for 4 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 4.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 3
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Georgina Board & Care
Licence 374602957 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2009
Approved for 4 non-ambulatory residents. No hospice waiver appears on the record.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Georgina Board and Care #2
Licence 374602689 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2008
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 2.
- 6
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Graceful Hearts Assisted Living
Licence 374604560 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2022
Approved for 2 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 2.
- 6
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 1
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
House of Grace for Senior Care
Licence 374604432 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91913 · first licensed 2021
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 2.
- 7
- visits
- 3
- Type A
- 2
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Melrose Care Home II
Licence 374600808 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 1999
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. No hospice waiver appears on the record.
- 4
- visits
- 1
- Type A
- 9
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Pacific Coast at Maria Way
Licence 374605048 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 2026
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Royal Garden Guest Home
Licence 374601332 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2003
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. No hospice waiver appears on the record.
- 10
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 6
- Type B
- 3
- subst.
Solivita Assisted Living
Licence 374605053 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91913 · first licensed 2026
The record does not state a non-ambulatory approval. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 2
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Sunset Coast Assisted Living 4
Licence 374604703 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 2024
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. Hospice waiver for 6.
- 5
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
The Velasco Homes #5
Licence 374600996 · 6 licensed beds · ZIP 91911 · first licensed 2000
Approved for 6 non-ambulatory residents. No hospice waiver appears on the record.
- 7
- visits
- 5
- Type A
- 12
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Abuelo's Villa
Licence 374604896 · 3 licensed beds · ZIP 91910 · first licensed 2025
The record does not state a non-ambulatory approval. Hospice waiver for 3.
- 3
- visits
- 0
- Type A
- 0
- Type B
- 0
- subst.
Counts are read from the California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division record on 21 October 2026 and recomputed on every build rather than typed in. The published visit history begins around September 2021 for every home however long it has held its licence. Licensing changes continually: check any home's current status on the state's own Care Facility Search before relying on it, and tell us about anything here that looks wrong — we will correct it the same day.
Looking in another city? La Mesa, El Cajon, Escondido and National City.
Searching in another county? Senior Placement Anaheim covers Orange County and Senior Placement Riverside covers Riverside County and the Inland Empire.
Before you look at a single price
Medicare does not pay for this
Medicare's own page on long-term care opens with the sentence "Medicare doesn't pay for long-term care", lists it as not covered, and says "You pay all costs". Help with dressing, bathing, meals and supervision, and the room itself, is not a Medicare benefit.
Medicare does cover a limited stay in a skilled nursing facility for rehabilitation after a qualifying hospital admission, and it covers hospice. Neither is a way to pay for assisted living. What does: private funds, long-term care insurance, Medi-Cal and its waivers for those who qualify, VA benefits for some veterans and surviving spouses, and in-home support hours through IHSS.
Medicare.gov, long-term care coverage, read 26 October 2026.
Common questions
Asked by almost every family
- How many assisted living homes are there in Chula Vista?
- Thirty are licensed by the State of California inside Chula Vista, across ZIPs 91910, 91911, 91913 and 91914. Eight are communities of 25 beds or more and twenty-two are houses of six beds or fewer. Together they hold 1,487 licensed beds.
- Why do the big communities dominate here?
- By count they do not — twenty-two of the thirty are small homes. By bed they do: the eight larger communities hold about nine in every ten licensed beds in the city, and Fredericka Manor alone is licensed for 560. It means the buildings a family can find easily are a small share of the homes available to it.
- How do I check a Chula Vista care home before I visit?
- Every licensed home has a public record: licence number and status, licensed beds, how many times the state has visited, the citations it issued, and whether complaints were substantiated. Those figures are on this page for all thirty, and you can look any licence number up yourself on the state's own Care Facility Search. Read a citation count against the visit count beside it.
- Does Medicare pay for assisted living in Chula Vista?
- No. Medicare's own page on long-term care opens with the sentence “Medicare doesn’t pay for long-term care”, lists it as not covered, and says “You pay all costs”. Medicare does cover a limited skilled-nursing stay after a qualifying hospital admission, and it covers hospice. Assisted living is paid privately, or through Medi-Cal and its waivers, or in some cases through VA benefits.
- What if she can no longer walk unaided, or is on hospice?
- Then the question is not which home you like but which homes are allowed to accept her, and that is on the record too. Ask the home to confirm its current approvals in writing before anybody signs, because approvals change and a snapshot narrows a shortlist rather than clearing a home.
Last reviewed . Figures are re-checked against their sources whenever this page is revised.
Thirty is still too many to ring
Tell us what she needs and we will narrow it to the two or three worth your afternoon — including the small homes you will not find anywhere else. It costs your family nothing.
Who are we helping?
Start with your family member. You can discuss the details with us by phone.
Prefer to talk now? (619) 340-1539, open every day until 6pm.